About Us

Researching Family Roots is all about genealogy & family history.

Genealogy Guide: A step-by-step genealogy guide. New to Genealogy? Start Here

Research Resources: Links to favourite genealogy websites. Some are generic sites, most are specific to my genealogy work. All have regularly reviewed “Top” sites in each category to help fast-track your research.

Clues and Conversations: Our interactive blog, discussing many different elements of genealogy. Find what you’re interested in with the ‘search bar’ at the top right side of the home page, or scroll through the categories on the right side of the page. Join any conversation with your comments.

Family Stories: My family stories and the journeys in writing them.

Mary’s Family: Take a look at the families I’m researching and writing about. I still need to find many missing family members and bits of information, and of course that elusive earlier ancestor. If you’re a part of any of these, I would really love to hear from you! If you are actively recording genealogy or family stories, your participation in this website is welcome!

Contact

About Researching Family Roots

My work with genealogy and writing includes the usual collection of family names with dates and places, but goes beyond these. By using personal evidence along with cultural and oral history, I explore who people were rather than solely names without faces, and to give a voice to my ancestors. I include the many great website links I use to research Canadian, English, Irish, German from Russia and Australian transportation ancestors. My Canadian research is in Saskatchewan, Manitoba and Ontario, Canadian Military and War Brides; English research is in the ‘Black Country’ and Yorkshires of England. Links to my favorite Genealogy Blogs are included.
Video | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.